NHli Board of Directors

President, New Hampshire Learning Initiative

Val Zanchuk is President of Graphicast, Inc., a Jaffrey based manufacturer of precision-machined zinc alloy castings. Val has been active in STEM education and workforce development issues for almost 20 years. Val is past chair of the Business and Industry Association of New Hampshire, chair of the Manufacturing Strategic Partnership Initiative, and chair of the Governor’s Pre-Engineering and Technology Advisory Council. He is also on the board of the New Hampshire Manufacturing Extension Partnership, the Manufacturing Leadership Council, the SEE Science Center, and serves on the State Workforce Innovation Board. Val received his BS and MEng degrees in Metallurgical Engineering from Lehigh University.


Secretary, New Hampshire Learning Initiative

Debra Holloway is an independent education consultant whose clients have included the Center for School Improvement and Learning, Measured Progress, and the Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board. She was the Director of Teacher and Leader Quality at the Wyoming Department of Education. She also taught composition at the University of New Hampshire and Great Bay Community College. She has served on a number of boards for non-profit organizations that benefit NH children, including current positions on the Arts In Reach Advisory Board and Program Committee, the Rye Education Foundation Board, and the Little Harbour Charitable Foundation Board.

Treasurer, New Hampshire Learning Initiative

Dr. Mark Joyce is the executive director of the New Hampshire School Administrator’s Association, a private not-for-profit organization that represents all New Hampshire school system administrators and advocates on behalf of all children and public education. Mark advises businesses and organizations regarding education, leadership, and communication. Mark has taught grades 7-12 as well as at the graduate school level and has served as school principal and as assistant superintendent of schools in New Hampshire. He has also served as a superintendent of schools in both New Hampshire and Maine.

 Christine Rath is the former Superintendent of Schools for the Concord, NH School District.  She served in Concord for 30 years, as middle school principal, high school principal and Assistant Superintendent before becoming superintendent. Chris is currently an adjunct professor in school administration for the University of New Hampshire and Southern New Hampshire University and a teaching lecturer for Plymouth State University. She serves on the Advisory Committee for NHTI and is a member of the Central NH Regional Advisory Board for New Hampshire Charitable Fund.

"New Hampshire is in the forefront of implementing systemic reform and true innovation in our public schools. We have talented teachers and courageous leaders undertaking this important work and communities that are beginning to recognize the value of this work for the future of our state."

Irv Richardson is currently the Coordinator for Public Education and School Support at NEA- New Hampshire. In this role, he provides professional learning opportunities for New Hampshire educators. Irv also teaches at Southern New Hampshire University in the Educational Leadership Doctoral Program. He has worked as a elementary classroom teacher, a principal, and as a senior consultant for TBA Consulting Group working extensively with states on projects such as Teacher Quality Enhancement grants, consulting with state department of education (New Hampshire, Connecticut, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Hawaii), working on educator induction, developing leadership standards, working on the committee to write the 2011 InTASC standards and the InTASC learning progressions. Irv was Maine's Teacher of the Year in 1988 and received a National Educator Award from the Milken Foundation in 1993.